Specialist Support Eligibility

The Disability Service Act 2006 outlines who can be considered for access to specialist disability services.

Demand for specialist disability services continues be greater than the supply of services. Being confirmed as eligible does not guarantee you will receive specialist support, but does mean you may be linked to specialist support services if and when they are available.

Eligibility criteria

There are seven criteria that must be met in order to be considered eligible. These are based on the Disability Services Act 2006 and are divided into three categories.

Category 1—about you

You are:

1. an Australian citizen or permanent resident with a suitable visa AND

2. a Queensland resident AND

3. under 65 at the time of application

Category 2—about your disability

Your disability is:

4. Due to an intellectual, psychiatric, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairment (or combination of impairments) AND

5. Permanent or likely to be permanent

Category 3—about your support needs

Your disability results in:

6. Substantial reduction in capacity for communication, social interaction, learning, mobility or self-care/management AND

7. A need for support

Click here for the application procedure.